My Account

Login Register

Frequently Asked Questions


Announcements

[19 October 2017] The Training Requirement for Cyber Operator is now active

What is the purpose of MySET?
My Skills and Education Translator aims to assist CAF members in career transition by providing a centralized resource that can be used to identify which Post-Secondary Institutions recognize prior learning for military skills and education. This may be in the form of civilian equivalency, accreditation of specific occupation training, education, experience or a combination thereof.
Why if the School I want to attend is not in MySET?
Participation by Post-Secondary Institutions (PSI) in the MySET application is purely voluntary. There is no formal obligation on the part of the PSI to provide any form of academic recognition for military training and education. It is up to each institution to choose and determine what form of recognition it provides to the military member or veteran. MySET simply provides a centralized digital platform that allows PSI to present their academic offerings for recognition of your military training and education.
Why do I not receive a credit for my qualification(s)?
Each academic institution within MySET provides offerings for the qualifications and training that CAF members receive during their careers. As academic institutions are independent from one another, they have separate assessment processes for credit recognition that is unique to each institution. As such they may not offer a credit for the qualification that you seek. While you may not have found a specific credit offering related to your qualification, we recommend that you still contact the academic institution of your choice and ask if they will recognize or offer a credit for that qualification itself. Many academic institutions can provide an overall experimental assessment of your military career and offer you different pathways to higher learning. You can coordinate directly with the academic institution to have your qualification recognized for credits or other offerings.
My qualification(s) are no longer active, or have been superseded by another qualification(s). What do I do?
If the qualification you are searching for is no longer active, or has been superseded by another qualification, try taking a look at the MITE code for the qualification as it may still be on the searchable item list. Otherwise, you should determine what the active, or most recent, qualification is, and have that qualification vetted for consideration by the academic institution. The Enabling Objective (EO) for the qualification may have, or may not have, changed since the qualification has been updated. The academic institution has access via their MySET Account to view a limited number of Canadian Armed Forces civilianized training syllabus known as Training Requirements (TR’s). They may be able to map your previous qualification to a more recent CAF TR.
Where can I find the registrar information for the academic institution I want to contact?
If you “hover” over the name of the academic institution in the results section of offerings, you will be able to go directly to the Prior Learning Assessment (PLAR) site for that academic institution. There you will find a military specific “landing page” for military academic recognition, specifically for CAF members! From there, you should be able to find the correct contact information of the institutions personnel responsible for PLAR, credit recognition, and other offerings.
The academic institution I want to recognize my training is not there, where can I find it?
Each academic institution on MySET was brought on individually, but the current list of academic institutions for MySET is not final! MySET is a “living tool” - it will continue to grow as time goes on. More academic institutions will continue to on-board onto MySET in the coming months, which will provide a more robust and complete recognition of military training and qualifications. In the meantime, we strongly encourage you to reach out to the academic institution that you want to have your qualifications recognized, and introduce them to the MySET tool. The academic institution has access via their MySET Account to view a limited number of Canadian Armed Forces civilianized training syllabus known as Training Requirements (TR’s). They may be able to map your previous qualification to a more recent CAF TR. This will greatly expedite the process of raising awareness for the academic institution, and the MySET staff will work diligently to have them on-boarded to MySET soonest!
Is the MySET transcript an official transcript?
While the MySET transcript provides a thorough review of all of the training and courses recognition that you received as a member of the CAF, it is not an official transcript. It serves as a guide that academic institutions use to coordinate their credit recognition and offerings.
Where can I find information on the education funding?
To find information on education funding for current serving military personnel (Regular and Reserve Forces), or veterans, please go to the MySET resources page where you will find a link that directs you to the CAF Individual Learning Plan (ILP), or VAC Education and Training Benefit (ETB). There you will find out all of the information available to register for the CAF ILP VAC ETB. In addition, Res F members can find a link and information related to Reservists and Canada Student Loans.

Foire Aux Questions


Announcements

[19 octobre 2017] L'exigence de formation pour le cyber-opérateur est maintenant active.

Quel est le but de MonTEC?
Traducteur de mes compétences et de mon éducation vise à aider les membres des FAC dans leur transition de carrière en fournissant une ressource centralisée qui peut être utilisée pour identifier les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire qui reconnaissent les acquis de l'acquisition de compétences et d'un enseignement militaires. Cela peut prendre la forme d'une équivalence civile, de l'accréditation d'une formation professionnelle spécifique, d'une éducation, d'une expérience ou d'une combinaison des deux.
Pourquoi l'école que je souhaite fréquenter n'est-elle pas dans MonTEC?
La participation des établissements postsecondaires (EPS) à l'application MonTEC est purement volontaire. L’EPS n’a aucune obligation formelle de fournir une quelconque forme de reconnaissance académique à la formation et à l’éducation militaires. Il appartient à chaque institution de choisir et de déterminer quelle forme de reconnaissance elle offre au militaire ou au vétéran. MonTEC fournit simplement une plate-forme numérique centralisée qui permet à EPS de présenter ses offres académiques pour la reconnaissance de votre formation et de votre éducation militaires.
Pourquoi ne reçois-je pas de crédit pour mes qualifications?
Chaque établissement d’enseignement de MonTEC fournit des offres concernant les qualifications et la formation que les membres des FAC reçoivent au cours de leur carrière. Étant donné que les établissements universitaires sont indépendants les uns des autres, ils disposent de processus d’évaluation de la reconnaissance des crédits distincts pour chaque établissement. En tant que tels, ils ne peuvent pas offrir un crédit pour la qualification que vous recherchez. Bien que vous n’ayez peut-être pas trouvé d’offre de crédit spécifique liée à votre qualification, nous vous recommandons de contacter l’établissement d’enseignement de votre choix et de lui demander s’il reconnaîtra ou offrira un crédit pour cette qualification elle-même. De nombreux établissements universitaires peuvent fournir une évaluation expérimentale globale de votre carrière militaire et vous proposer différentes voies d'accès à l'enseignement supérieur. Vous pouvez vous coordonner directement avec l'établissement d'enseignement pour que votre qualification soit reconnue pour des crédits ou d'autres offres.
Mes qualifications ne sont plus actives ou ont été remplacées par d'autres qualifications. Que fais-je?
Si la qualification que vous recherchez n'est plus active ou a été remplacée par une autre qualification, essayez de consulter le code IIEM de la qualification, car il se peut qu'il soit toujours dans la liste des éléments interrogeables. Sinon, vous devez déterminer quelle est la qualification active, ou la plus récente, et la faire valider par l’établissement d’enseignement. L’objectif d’activation (EO) de la qualification peut avoir changé ou ne pas avoir changé depuis la mise à jour de la qualification. L’institution universitaire a accès, via son compte MonTEC, à un nombre limité de programmes de formation civilisés des Forces armées canadiennes, connus sous le nom d’Exigences de formation (EF). Ils pourront peut-être mapper votre qualification précédente sur un TR FAC plus récent.
Où puis-je trouver les informations du bureau d'enregistrement de l'établissement d'enseignement que je souhaite contacter?
Si vous survolez le nom de l'établissement d'enseignement dans la section des résultats des offres, vous pourrez accéder directement au site d'évaluation des acquis de cet établissement d'enseignement. Vous y trouverez une «page de destination» spécifique à l'armée pour la reconnaissance académique militaire, spécialement pour les membres des FAC! À partir de là, vous devriez pouvoir trouver les informations de contact correctes du personnel de l’institution responsable de l’ÉRA, de la reconnaissance du crédit et d’autres offres.
L'institution académique que je veux reconnaître ma formation n'est pas là, où puis-je la trouver?
Chaque établissement d’enseignement de MonTEC a été activé individuellement, mais la liste actuelle des établissements d’enseignement de MonTEC n’est pas définitive! MonTEC est un «outil vivant» - il continuera à se développer avec le temps. De plus en plus d'établissements universitaires continueront d'adhérer à MonTEC dans les mois à venir, ce qui permettra une reconnaissance plus solide et complète de la formation et des qualifications militaires. Entre-temps, nous vous encourageons vivement à contacter l'institution universitaire dans laquelle vous souhaitez faire reconnaître vos qualifications et à leur présenter l'outil MonTEC. L’institution universitaire a accès, via son compte MonTEC, à un nombre limité de programmes de formation civilisés des Forces Armées Canadiennes, connus sous le nom d’Exigences de formation (EF). Ils pourront peut-être mapper votre qualification précédente sur un TR FAC plus récent. Cela accélérera considérablement le processus de sensibilisation de l’institution universitaire et le personnel de MonTEC travaillera avec diligence pour les intégrer au plus vite à MonTEC!
La transcription de MonTEC est-elle une transcription officielle?
Bien que le relevé de notes MonTEC fournisse un examen approfondi de toutes les reconnaissances de formation et de cours que vous avez reçues en tant que membre des FAC, ce n'est pas un relevé de notes officiel. Il sert de guide aux institutions académiques pour coordonner leur reconnaissance de crédit et leurs offres.
Où puis-je trouver des informations sur le financement de l'éducation?
Pour trouver des informations sur le financement de l'éducation du personnel militaire actuel (forces régulières et de la réserve), ou des anciens combattants, veuillez-vous rendre sur la page de ressources MonTEC où vous trouverez un lien qui vous dirigera vers le plan d'apprentissage individuel des FAC ou le programme de formation d'ACC. Et indemnité de formation (AEF). Vous y trouverez toutes les informations disponibles pour vous inscrire à l’AEF FAC PAI VAC AEF. De plus, les membres de la Res F peuvent trouver un lien et des informations relatives aux réservistes et aux prêts d'études canadiens.